Swiss-style Bircher museli

A couple of years ago I worked in Geneva for a couple of months catering for a Swiss family. Before this I had never explored Switzerland, further than Geneva airport, but I couldn’t wait to see what it had to offer.

IMG_2445.JPG

IMG_2477.JPGOne my days off I went to visit a local cafe for breakfast where in the months that I stayed tried most of the breakfast items on the menu. From muesli and granola to eggs Benedict and omelette. I became hooked on the Swiss style Bircher muesli, having it most of the time I went to visit, especially when the cold weather crept in!

Ever since leaving, I have been trying my own version using a range of fruit and ingredients. What is so good is that it can be made the night before and be ready for the next day, even when in a rush in the morning.

Ingredients ( for 2 people)

40g toasted sunflower seeds
70g flaked almonds, toasted
150g raisins
200g rolled oats
280g Greek yoghurt
120ml milk
360 ml apple juice
2 apples, grated
Fresh seasonal fruit (optional)

Method
Mix all the ingredients together the night before, excluding the apples.
When ready to eat mix in the fresh grated apples, add a splash of milk and any other seasonal fresh fruit ( I choose stewed blueberries) then dig in.

IMG_7547.JPG

Leave a Reply

